(307) 259-6480 bgail59@gmail.com



The Initiative

To Provide Foundation Support for Statewide Actions Designed to Strengthen the Quality of Classroom Teaching in Wyoming’s Public Schools by Increasing the Number of National Board Certified Teachers to a Level of National Leadership.

What we Do

General Focus Areas of the Initiative

  • Recruiting applicants to participate in the National Board Certification process
  • Providing support to teachers in the process
    • Financial assistance with assessment fees
    • Professional development specific to the National Board process
    • Local cohort and one-on-one guidance by trained Candidate Support Providers and Initiative staff
  • Recognizing the success of National Board Certified Teachers through the granting of awards and public events


Actions For The Foundation


  • Coordinate a support system of workshops, cohort groups, and one-on-one assistance from trained candidate support providers and staff.
  • Engage National Board Certified Teachers and other education leaders to aid in making this initiative a success across the State of Wyoming.
  • Fund up to $950 of the assessment fee for candidates.
  • Promote concurrent participation in a University of Wyoming College of Education Masters Program and National Board Certification.
  • Advocate for ongoing financial benefits for National Board Certified Teachers through our current partnership with the State (Wyoming Department of Education, the Legislature and the Governor’s office).
  • Celebrate the success of National Board Certified Teachers.
  • Grant the “Ellbogen Meritorious School” Award to schools who meet the criteria.
  • Support leadership development for National Board Certified Teachers in Wyoming.

Advisory Board

Nicolas Bellack: Client Relations Director, Educational Testing Service

Mike Ceballos: Retired Businessman; PhD Candidate

Cory Dziowgo: Principal, Wheatland Middle School, Platte County School District #1

Brian Farmer: Executive Director, Wyoming School Boards Association

Mary Ellbogen Garland: President, John P. Ellbogen Foundation

Nish Goicolea: Executive Director, Professional Teaching Standards Board

Margaret Hudson: Principal, UW Lab School, Albany County School District #1

Paige Hughes: Superintendent, Converse County School District #1

Joanie James: Retired Teacher, National Board Certified Teacher

Rae Lynn Job: Retired State Senator; Vice President, John P. Ellbogen Foundation

Amy Kassel: National Board Certified Teacher

Barb Maguire: National Board Certified Teacher, WNBCI Lead Program Facilitator

Ray Reutzel: Retired Dean, University of Wyoming College of Education

Allen Trent: Professor Educational Studies, University of Wyoming College of Education

Vacant: Wyoming Department of Education


Initiative Partners

John P. Ellbogen Foundation
Ruth R. Ellbogen Foundation
Governor Mead
Wyoming Legislature
Wyoming State Department of Education
Professional Teaching Standards Board
National Board for Professional Teaching Standards
University of Wyoming College of Education
Sweetwater County School District #1

Contact Us

Please contact either Barb Maguire, our Lead Facilitator or Mary Ellbogen Garland, President of the John P. Ellbogen Foundation with questions or comments.

(307) 259-6480 (Barb)

(307) 761-1898 (Mary)

P. O. Box 1670 Laramie, Wyoming 82073

Contact Barb & Mary